(February 27, 2017) The ITRC general membership will be voting on two proposals at the Annual Meeting in New Orleans: Amendments to the Governance Document and new Co-Chair positions. As stated in the ITRC Governance Document, any amendments to the Governance and Co-Chair nominations must be announced to the general membership 30 days prior to voting.

Summarized amendments to the Governance are as follows (changes are in bold):

  1. Updated Mission Statement: ITRC's mission is to develop information resources and processes to break down barriers to the use of technically sound innovative solutions for healthy communities, economy, and environment. (Statement matches Strategic Plan)
  2. Clarification that the Environmental Research Institute of the States (ERIS), the non-profit entity of the Environmental Council of the States (ECOS) is the ITRC oversight body
  3. Language defining how Co-Chairs are appointed on an Acting basis until an election can occur
  4. The Board of Advisors will have 7 State members
  5. Members of Technical Teams may now include emeritus and academic experts

The full Governance Document can be read here: itrcweb.org/Documents/Board-of-Advisors/Governance-Document-Feb-2017-FINAL-for-vote.pdf

Both Co-Chair positions will be up for vote. The following nominees are: Cherri Baysinger (Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services), Tom Higgins (Minnesota Pollution Control Agency), and Michael B. Smith (Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation). You can find their biographies, Statements of Interest, and resumes here:

Cherri BaysingerCherri Baysinger - Cherri Baysinger has been involved with ITRC since 2005, co-leading the Mining Waste Team and the Biochemical Reactors Team. Cherri is currently the Administrator for the Section of Epidemiology for Public Health Practices with the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services. She has worked for the state of Missouri since 1991, dividing her time between the Departments of Health and Senior Services and Natural Resources. Regardless of which agency she was working for, Cherri has spent much of her career working on or around hazardous waste sites, including Missouri's current and historic lead mining sites. In previous positions, she has overseen environmental health activities throughout the state, worked on the Superfund project management side and prepared risk assessments for mining sites and other hazardous waste sites. Cherri is a regular guest lecturer in undergraduate and graduate level environmental health courses, covering topics such as risk assessment, hazardous waste, and air and water quality. She has a B.S. in Biology and an M.S. in Forestry, Fisheries and Wildlife, both from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Tom HigginsTom Higgins - Tom Higgins is the State Program Administrative Coordinator for the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) in Saint Paul, MN. Tom has been with MPCA since 2003, previously working as a hydrogeologist on site investigation and cleanup projects in the Petroleum Remediation and Petroleum Brownfield Programs. Tom has had an active role in developing program guidance for several emerging topics of interest to MPCA programs, such as vapor intrusion and biofuel releases. Prior to being appointed to ITRC Board of Advisors in 2010, originally as the State At-Large Representative and currently as the Training Program Coordinator, Tom served as the Minnesota Point of Contact and participated in ITRC's State Engagement Program. He has also been a contributing member of the ITRC Vapor Intrusion and Biofuels Teams. Tom has a B.S. degree in Biology and Environmental Science from Minnesota State University, Mankato and an M.S. degree in Environmental Health Sciences from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis/St. Paul.

Michael SmithMichael B. Smith - Michael Smith has worked as a geologist and hydrogeologist in both industry and government. He has worked for the State of Vermont in groundwater protection and remediation for the past 25 years, and works in in development of regulations and state policies regarding groundwater. He has focused his work in the field of DNAPL site characterization and remediation. Michael has experience in ITRC as Point of Contact for Vermont, a member of the DNAPL team, and the Bioremediation of DNAPLs and Integrated DNAPL Source Zone Strategy project teams. Michael has also been on the ITRC Board of Advisors since 2005, including the role of Training Program Coordinator on the Board since 2006. He has a B.S. in Geology from Marietta College, and an M.S. in Hydrogeology and an M.A. in Climatology, both from Ohio University.

A summary of the Governance Document amendments and short presentations by Co-Chair nominees will be given during the Plenary Session on Wednesday, March 29th. Voting will be open until noon of that same day.

To learn more about the Governance Document, the Co-Chair nominees, and the Annual Meeting, please visit www.itrcweb.org

See you in New Orleans.